Twitter (2)

Top 20 SEO Twitter People to Follow

February 11, 2014
Ian Lloyd

We love social media.  Almost as much as we love SEO.  When the two come together, it’s a pretty exciting thing in the search marketing world.   Here we have 20 great search engine Twitterers that you have to follow if you’re a SEO yourself.

Top Twitter people to follow: The obvious ones

If you’re an SEO, you’re probably following these experts already.  If you’re not, make sure you do to get the latest industry Tweets from the people who are right in the heart of search engine optimisation.

1. Matt Cutts – @mattcutts

Google’s ‘Head of Web Spam’ with 115,366 followers.

According to Retweet Rank, Matt Cutts is the 7,523rd most influential Twitter user out of almost 200 million Twitter users (based on rewteets).  See below:

top 30 seo people to follow matt cutts(1)

2. Rand Fishkin – @randfish

CEO of SEOMoz with 31,922 followers.

3. Danny Sullivan – @dannysullivan

Editor of SearchEngineLand.com with 143, 701 followers.

top 30 seo people to follow danny sullivan

Top people continued: SEO gurus to follow on Twitter

Following the best SEOs on Twitter not only gives you unlimited access to the best SEO advice, posts and links on the net, but it gives you a great opportunity to connect, interact and make some valuable industry contacts.

4. Vanessa Fox – @vanessafox

Ex Googler and  “cyberspace visionary” as named by Seattle Business Monthly.

Here is a YouTube video where she talks about her book, Marketing in the Age of Google:

5. Michael Gray – @graywolf

SEO blogger, consultant and speaker with 13,917 followers.

6. Aaron Wall – @aaronwall

SEOBook blogger with 18,922 followers.

7. Daron Babin – @SEORockstars

CEO and host of Webmaster Radio, the largest online radio station for the B2B marketplace – 22,986 followers.

top 30 seo people to follow daron babin

(Image source: www2.webmasterradio.fm)

8. Lee Odden – @leeodden

CEO of TopRank and online marketing specialist with 28,075 followers.

9. Dave Naylor – @davenaylor

Head of search marketing at Bronco.co.uk and SEO conference speaker with 11,560 followers.

10. Ann Smarty – @SEOsmarty

Blogging and SEO expert with 16,349 followers.

11. Matt McGee – @MattMcGee

Executive News Editor at SearchEngineLand.com and speaker with 8,361 followers.

12. Gerald Weber – @the_gman

President of Search Engine Marketing Group and SEO consultant with 103,293 followers.

Gerald Weber

13. Brett Tabke – @btabke

Founder of WebmasterWorld with 27,122 followers.

14. Ralph Tegtmeier – @fantomaster

SEO software developer and link builder from Belgium with 9,099 followers.

15. Reg Saddler – @zaibatsu

Well known social media star with 124,544 followers.

16. Barry Schwartz – @rustybrick

Search Engine Roundtable Executive Editor and CEO of Rusty Brick with 15,705 followers.

17. Mike Grehan – @mikegrehan

VP, Global Content Director with incisive Media and publisher of Search Engine Watch with 3,560 followers.

Watch a video on Mike Grehan discussing the impacts of changing internet users on search marketing:

The final few: The SEO Twitter underdogs

These Twitter SEOs don’t have quite the same following as the others when it comes to numbers, but their SEO and internet marketing related Tweets make them well worth following!

18. Ruud Hein – @ruudhein

Ruud Hein is a WordPress geek and a editor for Search Engine People.  He has 2,879 followers and he ranks as 212,694th most influential person on Twitter (based on retweets according to retweetrank.com)

top 30 seo people to follow ruud hein

19. Jennifer Sable Lopez – @Jennita

Better known as Jennita, this social media author has received 2987 ‘thumbs up’ for her blog posts on SEOMoz and has 3,457 followers on Twitter.

20. Sean SEO – @seanSEO

This Australian SEO blogger with 44,564 followers has proved to be very informative for some of our in-house SEO account managers, analysts and link builders – worth a follow!

top 30 seo people to follow sean seo

Follow WMG!

We consider ourselves one of the SEO Twitter underdogs too.  With 4,723 followers and counting, we’re always happy to take on more followers.

We Tweet about anything related to internet marketing or SEO – follow us here.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someonePrint this page

About Ian Lloyd

Brilliantly talented, Ian is a rare breed of analytical brain matched with creative soul. He’s tasked with ensuring our WMG clients are delighted with the service they receive and our team are inspired and motivated to do a great job. Blessed with a management style that is calm, trusting and encouraging, he has nurtured and grown his team to over 50 digital marketers over the last 7 years.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>